skip to main content

Malcom Prize Guidelines

Criteria for the Prize
The Shirley M. Malcom Prize for Excellence in Mentoring is to be awarded annually to a professor who, through mentoring, supports the achievement and well-being of students. Criteria include, but are not limited to, effective mentoring practices, such as: giving regular feedback, guidance, and advice; providing access to academic and professional information, resources, and opportunities; and helping to ensure a safe, encouraging, and inclusive environment.

Origin of the Prize
Established in 2021, this annual prize honors Dr. Malcom's lifetime commitment to improving STEM education and increasing access through her national leadership and mentorship.

Terms of the Prize
The prize consists of a cash award of $5,000.

All members of the Institute faculty are eligible.

Nominations for the Prize
Announcements inviting nominations for the prize are made at the beginning of the winter term. Nominations for the 2022-23 Malcom Prize may be made by any member of the Caltech community, including faculty, students, postdoctoral scholars, staff and alumni. Nomination packages should include a letter of nomination of no more than 750 words with up to five additional letters from students and colleagues of no more than 500 words. Supporting material, such as a curriculum vitae and materials that demonstrate mentorship by the nominee, can also be included. Email nomination packages no later than December 19, 2022 to

Re-nominations should conform to the guidelines for nominations. Nominees not selected in a given year will be considered part of the nomination pool for each of the following two years. Consideration of a nominee after three years will require re-nomination.

Selection of the recipient will be made by a committee appointed by the Provost. The committee chair and members will be rotated frequently in order to ensure broad representation across the Institute. The committee will consist of at least three professorial faculty (with the awardee joining the committee after year 1), a vice provost, and one representative each from the undergraduate student body, the graduate student body, and the postdoctoral community. The assistant vice provost and director of the Student-Faculty Programs office will serve as an ex-officio member.

Presentation of the Prize
The Malcom Prize will be presented at a regular meeting of the Caltech faculty in the third term.