skip to main content

Office of the Provost

As Caltech's provost, David Tirrell, Ross McCollum-William H. Corcoran Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, serves as the chief academic officer of the Institute; establishes policies and procedures concerning academic programs, including teaching and research;  oversees faculty and academic appointments and promotions; is responsible for the academic budget; and acts for the president in his absence. The six division chairs and two vice provosts report directly to the provost. 

Kaushik Bhattacharya, Howell N. Tyson, Sr., Professor of Mechanics and Materials Science, and Michelle Effros, George Van Osdol Professor of Electrical  Engineering, are the Institute's vice provosts. The vice provosts help oversee research and education policies and procedures, including sponsored research policies and proposal authorizations, the technology transfer program, the Postdoctoral Scholars Office, the libraries, research compliance (including administering the Institute's policies on scientific misconduct and conflict of interest), the Council on Undergraduate Education, the Staff and Faculty Consultation Center; the Student-Faculty Programs Office (which administers SURF and related programs), and the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Outreach.

Image of Provost David Tirrell
Provost David Tirrell